I hate it when I’m wrong

Reader, I am an enormous arse. I also HATE being wrong.

It is not the end of the world that the girls are going to be in the same class. In fact, it may turn out to be a blessing in disguise:

1. Their Reception class teacher is, apparently, amazing and the parents in the other class would kill for their children to be in her class
2. The other children from nursery are in the other class. If we insisted on a split now, we would upset whichever twin was in the other class, by leaving them on their own.

I’d still like to understand the rationale behind the school’s decision keep the girls together when they had been specifically told that they were to be split up. If they’d contacted us beforehand to say that they appreciated our views but wanted to put the girls in the same class for X, Y and Z reasons, I would have understood. It was a shock to find out that our views had been completely ignored, with no explanation.

As it turns out, I’m one of the few people that thought splitting the girls was an absolute necessity. So many people have commented that it would be a shame to split them, that it wouldn’t feel right, that they work well as a team, that they both rely on each in different ways, that they are individuals with different personalities and approaches to life and won’t get mixed up after the inevitable initial confusion.

I sat the girls down individually on Friday and asked them what they thought. They both said, without prompting from the other, that they would rather be in the same class as each other than be with their friends. I can’t argue with that.

Dh is going to speak to the school tomorrow. I wasn’t exactly rational when I spoke to them on Friday so hopefully he’ll make more sense than I did!

2 thoughts on “I hate it when I’m wrong

  1. Glad to hear this got sorted! I didn’t want to say this before but I’m actually also glad to hear that your girls will be staying in the same class – speaking as a twin (although not an identical one), my sister and I were separated into different classes when we were 10, just before going to secondary school, and although it was certainly the right thing to do at the time, it was incredibly hard. There is no way either of us would have coped with being separated right at the start of primary school. Obviously all kids are different, and you know your girls, but that’s just my 2p worth. Hope I’m not being out of line here – just wanted to share my opinion!

    • Thanks Laura. I suspect you probably aren’t going to like what I’m about to post, but I really value your opinion and thank you for being so honest πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

