Resting

After my hospital dash yesterday R and G were at nursery today so I was able to take it very easy. People that don’t know me very well have assumed that I’m pregnant. I can assure you I am most definitely not! Perish the thought…

I find it really hard to completely switch off but I forced myself to do virtually nothing. I read the Guardian on my Kindle, flicked through Facebook and Twitter, watched and listened to some stuff that my lovely friend sent me to cheer me up, had a long bath and started a 1,000 piece jigsaw puzzle. It’s a bit of an old ladyish thing to do but I find puzzles really relaxing. Funnily enough, I haven’t found time to do them for the last four years…

Dh is a wonderful nurse and is making me a veg-laden casserole for tea. I’d rather have a pint of Guinness and a bar of dark chocolate to boost my iron levels but that’s my Irish ancestry (my great grandmother came from a line of Irish silk weavers) talking.

I’m seeing my GP tomorrow morning. I suspect that I’ll have to go back on the iron tablets again (fun, fun, fun!) and I don’t know if they’ll want to do any further investigations. I still feel really drained so I’ll see how it goes.

R and G…sorry, Alice in Winderland and Tinkerbell (they’re going through a stage of dressing up for nursery. Passers-by ask if it’s a special day. Our reply is usually: ‘Yes. Tuesday’) bounced in to see me when they got home from nursery. G is her usual self and gave me kisses and cuddles whereas R is more wary of ill people. However, they both insisted on extra kisses from me at bedtime and as we shut their bedroom door R called out in a soft little voice: ‘I love you Mummy’.

 

Leave a Reply

