Walk like an…

….Egyptian?

Walk this way?

Take a walk on the wild side?

Can you tell that walking is on my mind at the moment? It’s three days until I take part in Shine London and I’m extremely excited and bloody terrified at the thought of walking a marathon. Back in July I wrote about receiving my pack from Cancer Research and 1st October seemed a long way away. Saturday is now a mere three sleeps away.

I did a 13.7 mile training walk with my friend at the end of July and haven’t been able to do much in the way of dedicated training since. However, thanks to my super duper pedometer I now know that I wrack up the miles every day just by living my life. R and G and a full-time job with a commute mean that I rarely get time to sit down and rest. I work on the 6th Floor so use the stairs in preference to the lift most of the time. It’s not going to be hard cardio-wise as it’s a flat course through London. There’s likely to be some wear and tear to my legs and I’m expecting blisters, so will be packing plasters and painkillers.

I’m hoping that adrenaline gets me through the really tricky bits.That, the fact that I’ve already raised a fair chunk of money children’s cancers, and my sheer bloody mindedness should see me through to the finishing line. EVERYONE knows I’m doing it and there’s no way I’m not going to finish.

My original fundrasing target was £250 and I’ve already exceeded it – just! I’m so pleased that lots of lovely people have been extremely generous. However, I’d love to raise even more money so here’s my sponsorship page. There’s also a JustGiving link to the right of this post, so you can click there as well. I can receive donations up to the end of November, so if you want to hedge your bets and wait until I’ve completed the thing, go ahead!

Now I need to prepare. There’s no more training to be done. I know what I’m wearing and that I need to take a small rucksack with some essentials (water, snacks, the aforementioned plasters and painkillers) in. The weather looks favourable, although it’s difficult to predict this far in advance. I also need to load up my ipod with podcasts and inspirational playlists for when the going gets tough (the tough get going). I’m going to be walking through the best city in the world – what more inspiration do I need?!

I’ll see you on the other side!

Leave a Reply

