Nails

I painted the girls’ nails for the first time at the weekend.  Don’t panic, I’m not planning on taking them down the beauty queen route.

My toenails are always painted in the Summer months and whenever I have an event (because, obviously, these days I attend SO MANY) and I occasionally do my nails (and have them done) so the girls are used to seeing me with colourful digits.

R has come home from nursery on several occasions recently with ‘painted’ (in black felt-tip) nails ‘Like Mummy’. G always notices when I’ve changed the colour of my nails and frets when they start flaking off. I bowed to a very small amount of pester-power and bought them the wishy-washiest child-friendly nail varnishes I could find – one in pale pink and one clear the sparkly bits.

We had arranged to meet Dh for lunch and the girls were getting fractious so, on the spur of the moment, we sat on a bench and I ‘did’ the girls’ nails. They are terribly proud of their painted nails and show them off at every opportunity. The colours are barely noticeable (you’d need a magnifying glass to see the change in colour) but the girls are happy.

R asked Dh if he would like me to paint his nails. He declined but I suspect it’s only a matter of time before they give him a pedicure while he snoozes on the sofa…

Leave a Reply

