Mother’s Day

A small confession: I’m not particularly fond of Mother’s Day.

Heresy!

I’d put it the ‘hugely overrated event’ bracket with New Year’s Eve. Everyone gets quite worked up about it and I can’t really work out why. I’m sure many people would say that Valentine’s Day is similar, but I rather like V-Day. You and your partner can choose to opt in or out of it. We are all forced to ‘do’ Mothering Sunday. It’s the element of forced jollity and unbearable one-upmanship  that bugs me.

I used to work in a <insert name of major high street catalogue store here> shop and the Saturday before Mother’s Day was always a nightmare. Pissed blokes would stagger into the shop at 4.45pm with wild panic in their eyes clutching a hastily bought (or stolen) bunch of flowers and paw uselessly at the ‘Laminated book of dreams’ (copyright Bill Bailey) until they found the page of foot spas. They would then lurch up to the counter, buy said overpriced foot care gadget and dribble on the till while they waited for the monkeys in the warehouse to swing over to the relevant dusty shelf and hurl the box towards the bored till girls. Bloke would then stagger out of shop, drooping flowers in one hand and foot spa in the other. Sometimes they would stop at the door, come back in, grab the first person in a grey uniform them came across and shout ‘OI LUV/MATE! YOU SELL CARDS?’ I always wondered what their poor mothers thought of their gifts. I don’t think that many were ever returned. Maybe they had spare rooms full of foot spas that they didn’t have the heart to return, sell on or give away to other people.

My Mum is marvellous (she puts up with me for a start) and I try and let her know on more than just one day a year. Yes, she always gets a card and sometimes a present and/or flowers and she certainly deserves them, but I buy her bits and pieces during the year as well. When we visit I’ll take along flowers, a plant or some home-made cakes or biscuits. I think…I hope she knows how much I appreciate her.

I thought that becoming a Mother would change my perspective but it hasn’t really. While I’m not going to turn down cards and gifts because I’m not completely ungrateful and stupid, I know that dh and the girls appreciate me most the time anyway. This year I got a gorgeous new watch chosen by dh and R and given to me more than a month ago because my beloved old watch had broken. The girls gave me a card each and dh bought a bunch of flowers back with the food shop this morning. I got a lie in (much needed as I was very ill last night. Bloody IBS.) and a lamb roast and I even got to have a nap this afternoon because I felt totally washed-out from the return visit(s) of yesterday’s food. It was lovely (apart from being ill), but I was still cleaning out the guinea pigs and tidying up and changing beds, etc. Life goes on and all that.

A Mum is for life, not just for Mother’s Day.

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

  1. Love the statement, ” A Mum is for life”. This is so true. Btw, I awarded you with the Versatile Blogger Award! It is a fun little award passed around within the blogging community. Here is the shortlink: http://wp.me/p15O7Y-8x. I hope you enjoy and I look forward to reading more of your posts in the days to come. : )
    Just Ramblin’

    • Ooh how exciting! Thank you very much! When I’m feeling slightly more with it I’ll do all the proper stuff with the award 🙂

  2. This made me pleased…Glad to see someone who is a Mum thnking what I think – I only ever buy a card on principle but hope that my appreciation is recognised in other ways

Leave a Reply

